Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
HeWhoLaughsLast

Can I use Norton Personal Firewall with Server 2000?

Hi all,

I'm running Windows Server 2000 for ASP/SQL development at home and am spooked by the attention my server gets as soon as it goes online. I've lost count of the times I've had to re-format the b*stard.

My question is: can I use Norton Personal Firewall on a Server 2000 setup? If so, should I expect any problems? McAfee Firewall won't support Server, even though it runs like a dream on my 2000 Pro configuration (I'm forced to run a dual boot just so I can surf 'safely' in 2000 Pro)

Cheers, any help is much appreciated

Not sure if Norton PF works with Windows Server 2003/Windows 2000 Server Family or not, but Sygate Personal Firewall does.

If you're having as many attacks as you say you are, you might want to stick that server behind a NAT router/firewall/ISA box.

Thanks, I've had a look at the Sygate site and like what I see! I'm new to all this so it's good to know there are alternatives.

I'm assuming both the standard (free) and pro versions work with win2k server?

The router/firewall solution is something I've contemplated, but it seems a bit like overkill as my machine is not a web server per se -- I use it strictly for development purposes (IIS & SQL). I only go online through SQL Enterprise Manager and Query Analyzer to administer DBs remotely, as well as FTP to upload content.

Thanks again.

I am using the free version of the Sygate firewall, and I am very pleased. However, I am also behind a NAT router, a Linksys BEFSR41. I suppose that I use the router to protect against inbound attacks, and the software firewall to limit and control what applications can access the network/internet.