Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Christianb

How can you tell How Many MHZ a computer is from the regist

Hi I'm a programmer so I don't specifically need to know that I can install SiSoft Sandra and it'll tell me everything. Although that is a good answer. I'm trying to find out where in the registry a user's CPU speed is maintained? Also where in the registry is the brand of the CPU manufacturer maintained? Basically I'm trying to tell if they have an intel P4 or not.

Thanks,

Christian Blackburn

I'm also trying to tell whether they have a Celeron or not. So that's why I'm checking both the manufacturer and the speed so that way I can support both geniune pentium 4s and any future celeron P4 class CPUs. What's the slowest P4 class celeron CPU? Or are celerons still based on the P3? It's been a while since I've kept up on CPUs.

Thanks,

Christian

I just checked and all the info you'll probably need is right here:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0\

The CPU MHz is stored as a REG_DWORD in hex so you'll need to write your program to decode that but the Vendor Indentifer (GenuineIntel, AuthenticAMD, CyrixInstead) and CPU Identifier (x86 Family x Model y Stepping z) are both in plain text. You'll probably need to reference an internal lookup table to make any sense of the CPU Identifier but if you know what you're looking for it shouldn't be all that difficult.

If you do find such a table, please post a link to it, as I am very interested in making sense of the family/stepping, etc... Perhaps others are too?

I have one (at least for Pentiums and Pentium IIs) in my copy of the 10th Anniversary Edition of Scott Muellers Upgrading and Repairing PCs. He probably has a more up to date version (covering Pentium IIIs, 4s and Athlons) in later editions of the book. I don't know of any online resources for the info though but a bit of googling probably would turn up a few...