Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
oaydin

Planning servers for network

Guyz, I'm a rookie IT now,

I'm lucky I got a job with that little knowledge n without certificate laugh

At the moment I have one server n 37 clients.

Server is serving SQL 7.0 , that all the clients n things going on that.

Some fool tried to install exchange n antivirus to same srv , lol

now , I have 3 new server (ok not srv but will be used as)

each config is same,

AMD XP2000+

Chaintech 7sid sis735 (rock solid n no problems)

ram : 1 srv 1 gb , other 2 512 mb DDR

60gb 7200 western

intel pro100/s

n things I2m gonna serve :

SQL 7.0

Exchange 2000

Norton antivirus enterprise

Firewall (dunno yet what to use)

a domain srv with AD

file n backup

NAT

each srv will be w2k server

Now I need opinions as which thing should run with which.

I will leave SQL alone .

Should I run Exchange with Domain srv or not ?

should NAT be on domain ?

which one should connect to net n other 2 stay internal ...

I'm lost hehe

pls help laugh

Ok, these only are opinions:

1 Buy some books and read every night. Start with a general networking one to get the concepts.

2 Although you can install all that stuff on one machine, I agree with your method of setting up mutiple servers. Keep SQL and exchange separate. Make sure you set up some type of fault tollerance. Mirroring would probably be your best bet.

3 BACKUPS!!!!! Make sure you set that up, and test atleast monthly.

4 I personally would get a good firewall that also performs NAT. There are many to choose from, however I like Symantec's (Formerly Axent Raptor)

There is so much more to say, but it all is subjective and depends on your situation. You really need to get a networking essentials book, and see if your employer will pay for some classroom instruction.

-RY