Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
AMDguy

what is best setting for optimizing page file?

i am new to NTFS and page files and was wondering what is best settings to use for this. i have 512 meg micron PC133 and am running a 2 hard drive system. thanx

The recommended amount is between 1.5 and 2x your RAM, but it depends on what apps you use. Photoshop can't be too well fed.

I personally just see what Win2k recommends for my settings and do that on the min and max values. If possible, put it by itself on the first partition of a drive.

I'll tell you right now, this isn't a one-size-fits-all deal; you'll probably get a few different answers.

I'm too lazy to do the simple math, so I just use whatever Windows recommends after the install.

Ok, first let me just clarify something. The page file is not part of NTFS, its simply part of windows. In fact all versions of windows have "virtual memory" ...but in NT/2k/XP, its in the form of a page file.

Now a couple things you need to know about it, and some logical ways to deal with it.

- Its best to create the page file on a fresh hard drive with nothing on it, to insure that the entire page file is created in one section of your harddrive (this increases seek times).

- It is best in most cases to set your Min and Max sizes for the page file to be the same. This way it creates the page file once, and never grows by itself. This way that contiguous file you created above, will never create a new part on a different section of the harddrive.