Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
qshakoor

Help!!! Installed Redhat 7.1 dual boot with XP not working

I am a newbie in the Linux world. I installed Redhat (at least tried doing a dual boot) with XP. Once the computer rebooted I do not see an option to logon to XP/Dos. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I was on Windows XP (NTFS Partition).

Regards,

If you have installed Linux after XP installation and if you have chosen the boot loader to be written in MBR, this problem may arise.

If you have chosen lilo as boot loader follow this: [You can verify this by seeing the lilo prompt while booting]

Open the /etc/lilo.conf

Add the following entries

other=/dev/hd[x][y]

label=xp

where x can be a,b,c,d and y is partition number.

For example, If u hv installed XP on Primary Master disk and on partition 2, give it as

other=/dev/hda2

close /etc/lilo.conf

and then run

lilo

It should update the boot record.

After rebooting you will be able to see xp also in the boot menu.

Regards,

VT

Red Hat is using GRUB instead of LILO.

To add Windows XP to the bootmenu:

Open /etc/grub.conf (as root) in your favorite editor and add the follow:

title Windows XP

rootnoverify (hd0,0)

chainloader +1

Here an example grub.conf:

Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda## Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.#          root (hd0,2)#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda4#          initrd /initrd-version.img#boot=/dev/hdadefault=1timeout=10splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gztitle Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-4)        root (hd0,2)        kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.18-4 ro root=/dev/hda4 hdd=ide-scsi        initrd /initrd-2.4.18-4.imgtitle Windows XP        rootnoverify (hd0,0)        chainloader +1