Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Rickdas

Help with SBLive! Value and Win2000

Help.

I am quite the novice here and currently upgraded to win2000.

As a result, my sblive!value (wdm) card seems to be NOT working.

I have NO SOUND whatsoever.

I've tried up[censored] drivers and everything.

If anyone has any ideas, please reply.

Gaming without sound is horrible!

Thanks. frown

What's your specs?

I don't know what it is with Creative, but they seem to have some problem with producing drivers that fix peoples problems. A number of people have ditched their SBLive! cards for other non-Creative sound cards. To be fair, there are people who haven't had a problem at all with Live! cards. However, there seems to be an unhealthy number of people still having problems.

Well, like i said, I'm somewhat of a novice and inherited this computer. What information do you need to help?

I know that I'm also having trouble with my 3dfx voodoo card. My monitor is on plug and play even though it find the voodoo as the accelerator. I only have 32-bit color...

Thanks again.

3dfx died, and XP drivers aren't gonna show up, except through third parties--which would leave you with an "as is" policy.

CPU and your motherboard are pretty crucial here, or at least the chipset on the motherboard. You have several ways of doing this: in Device Manager, you can see under Motherboard Resources who made the chipset your motherboard uses. It may not say the exact chips used, but it will give you the manufacturer: Intel, Via, SiS, ALi, or AMD.

Get that and the CPU up and we can go from there.