Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
clutch

Getting probed by Code Red

Anybody here getting probed yet? My server at home got hit 4 times today (that I know of). I just started playing with ODBC logging to SQL so I could generate reports regarding usage, when I noticed this nice new "parameters" field that I have never bothered with before. Well, the reason why I noticed is that there are a bunch of "N"s followed by a specific series of characters. In addition, all four IPs were IIS boxes (1 from Spain, 2 from The Netherlands, and 1 from South Korea), all four were looking for the same file, and all four passed the same amount of info (via the parameter string, I imagine). I just wondered how many others have been swept here.

I work at an isp, and today we were logging code red probes on our servers about every 15 seconds.... pretty insane...

Ouch. Still kinda hard to believe that so much havoc can be averted with a patch that doesn't even require a reboot (at least in Win2K anyway).

I got Win2k at home and grabbed that patch ASAP. I guess it's nowhere near as bad as for a server--which I have no clue how bad it must be for you guys.

Whew! Disaster avoided...for now. ;(

No reboot eh? You lucky bastard wink

I've been patching 50+ servers and only a few Win2kSP1 managed to take the patch without reboot.

All with NT4 and Wink2SP2 I had to reboot.

The funny thing is that I was thinking about patching about 10 but when I ran the CodeRed-scanner it was over 50 boxes with IIS running 8)

If any of you want the app I was talking about send me a mail. Just type a range of ip:s and the app will scan them for unpatched IIS-boxes, great for a large network.

/Toby

That's odd, Toby. I patched 5 servers running Win2K SP2, and none of them needed the reboot. Also, you will be getting an email from me.

smile

The patch requires at least SP1 and if you don't have that then you will need a reboot. However none of mine needed are reboot for just the patch.